Skip to content

Yoga Philosophy in 2-minutes: Yamas and Niyamas (image)

March 31, 2014



Can you believe that Yoga has its own “Ten Commandments”?  These 10 ethical principles make up the first two limbs, or practices, of yoga. There are eight limbs total and while most classes focus on the third and fourth limbs (poses and breathing) it’s important to be aware of the first two. Here’s a peek:

Yamas (“Restraints”):

  • Ahimsa – non-violence
  • Satya – truth
  • Asteya – non-stealing
  • Brahmacharya – sexual fidelity
  • Aparigraha – non-possesiveness

Niyamas (“Observances”):

  • Saucha – purity
  • Santosha – contentment
  • Tapas – austerity
  • Svadyaya – self-study
  • Ishvaripranidana – divine connection

See the rest of the yoga poster and get your own (because it looks cool-as-shit up on the wall).

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gary Peters permalink
    April 8, 2014 8:32 pm

    This is very interesting. I never knew that. Thank you, Rebecca.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: