Skip to content

“I’m Just Not Meant for This!” begins March 30th

February 27, 2014

I’m Just Not Meant For This!
A Course in Mindfully Navigating Yourself Into a New Career
(While Making the Best of One You Have)

yoga2notextcropAnnouncing my new course for current-job-haters/dream-job-seekers. It’s about getting you into a more satisfying, fulfilling line of work. And if you’re like me, that’s super important to you. You won’t settle for just anything.

If you’re tired of dreading work, searching for a new job and having no time or energy for things you love, this class is for you. I left my seven year career as a computer programmer to become a wellness coach and yoga instructor.  I’ll share all my dirty secrets about how it happened. (Even the ones I will never, ever go public about.)

Did you read this other quick two-minute post about the course? Check it out and then read the FAQ below for more details.

Q: What will we be learning?

This 12-week course will be split into two parts.
Part 1. Making the Best of My Current Job – mindfulness in life and at work.
Part 2. Navigating into a Meaningful Career – taking steps to discovering more fulfilling work

bookcover

Real Happiness At Work by Sharon Salzberg released just this January will be our guide for the mindfulness work. We’ll be reading about, working with and putting into practice the following concepts:

  • Balance: the ability to differentiate between who you are and what your job is
  • Concentration: being able to focus without being swayed by distraction
  • Compassion: being aware of and sympathetic to the humanity of ourselves and others
  • Resilience: the ability to recover from defeat, frustration or failure
  • Communication and Connection: understanding that everything we do and say can further connection or take away from it
  • Integrity: bringing your deepest ethical values to the workplace
  • Meaning: infusing the work you do with relevance for your own personal goals
  • Open Awareness: the ability to see the big picture and not be held back to self-imposed limitations

Q: How is all that going to help me get work I love?

Simple in theory. It’s likely now you’re confused and feeling stuck. It’s difficult to make decisions or even know what you want. If you don’t even know what you want, then how can you plan a way out? Here’s how it works:

Process

Q: How do I know if this course is for me?

Two things.
1. You’re so sick of your job and you hate how it’s affecting your whole life. You just want to be happy and have meaningful work and you can’t take another day. You’ve thought about leaving DC and starting over but can’t seem to pull the trigger. You apply to job after job but aren’t excited about any of them or can’t get a foot in the door. You’re sick of always feeling like you should change your resume and then feeling guilty for watching TV instead. Your friends miss you because you’re too tired to go out anymore and you’re sick of hearing yourself complain to them all the time. Sunday nights make you want to pull your hair out. You’ve considered just quitting and getting a job at the GAP or a cute coffee shop. Your relationship is suffering. You’re sick of waiting around for the perfect job to just magically appear in your inbox. You feel absolutely stuck. Any of those – all of those – and more.

2. You’re ready to commit every week to class time and a little bit every day towards “the work.” Towards YOU. You’re ready to show up, be present, be open and give yourself the attention you need to bring yourself out of this funk and into something awesome. You’re ready today to write that check, buy the book and get an inspirational new notebook just for this course. You’re ready to be there and be part of a group of wonderful and interesting people just like yourself and help others to help you help yourself. (That’s a lot of helping! It’s a good thing.) You’re ready to join “Team Meant For This!”

Bridesmaids

“Annie, you know what your problem is? You. You’re your problem Annie. But you know what? You’re also your solution.”

Q: What makes this course different from all the others?

Well first of all, I haven’t seen any others. I myself was in this situation of hating my job and feeling totally stuck with no foreseeable exit about 7 years ago and my options were limited. I did tandem work with a psycho-therapist and a career counselor and eventually wiggled my way out. It was mentally, emotionally and financially exhaustive. Eventually I got on the path but looking back I did it the wrong way – I don’t want you to have to.

This course is different because it takes a whole new approach to happiness at work. We’ll be using mindfulness as the foundation of change with the help of Real Happiness at Work by Sharon Salzburg and week to week dedicating our hearts and minds towards creating an exit from your current miserableness onto a fresh, new path full of potential wonderful and fulfilling work.

No Myers Briggs. No resume reviews. No Parachute Coloring.

Q: What if I miss a class?

No biggie, you can catch up. I expect you to commit to each class but hey I know life happens. We will have an online forum for sharing successes and struggles and keeping up on coursework during the week in between sessions. And this forum will be a big part of your success too. The more you check in the more you’ll get out of it.

But I want you to think of this just like a college course. One of those freshman year classes filled with the kinds of stuff they never taught you in school that you should’ve learned before going out into the world. Like how to do your taxes. Or how to change a tire. This course will be that important, that informative, that applicable and if you really want I’ll give you a grade at the end.

Q: Will I have a new job and a career that I love by the end of this course?

I wish I could say yes with absolute certainty! Unfortunately I cannot promise you’ll have your dream job at the end of 12 weeks (that’s up to you!) But here’s what I can guarantee: if you participate each week during the sessions, engage with our online Facebook group between sessions, dedicate time to the assignments and practices then you will get unstuck. You’ll see the clear path in front of you and be on your way to having work that is fulfilling and satisfying and energizing and something you can brag about. Something that will make your friends jealous AND happy for you about all at the same time.

Surf on over to my website for schedule, fees, cancellation policy and other details.
Still not sure if this is for you? Schedule a free 20-minute phone consultation with Rebecca.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

