Skip to content

The one profound thing I learned about life from “Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred”

July 22, 2013

You can’t just do yoga and expect to be in good shape. Sorry, I wish it were so because I love yoga and it makes me happy. But years and years of yoga and only yoga left me with some loosey goosey joints, some bad-ass looking arms, and really wobbly hips.madonna-yoga

Now maybe I wasn’t learning really safe yoga to protect my joints and getting injured was just part of my yoga journey. I’m learning safe yoga now from some fantastic teachers and just wisdom with age helps too. But everyone listen up, strength training and cardiovascular exercise are really important too. It’s not even debatable these days.

I digress.

So here I was in my living room getting in a quick cardio workout with Jillian Michaels on a way-too-hot-to-exercise-outside 97 degree 97% humidity kind of Washington, DC summer day, when Jillian said something really profound.

While doing these challenging squat press thingies and explaining the reasoning behind the type of circuit training we’re doing, Jillian says…

“The reason we don’t allow rest is because we want your body to change as quickly as possible, and in order to do that we gotta put stress on it, that’s how things change. If you put stress on your body, it’ll adapt.”

It’s around minute 7:11, here you can watch it for yourself.

So there it is, in true “Live Beyond the Mat” style. Feeling stuck? Want to change?

If you want your body to change, you have to put stress on it. If you want your life to change, you have to put stress on that too.

That doesn’t sound appealing.

But what it meant to me, is that you have to get uncomfortable like you do when you’re under stress from trying something new and scary. You have to be open to things being weird and icky and uncomfortable and different so that you can push through to the other side. Have you ever noticed that difficult life situations only ever make you stronger? More experienced? More capable?

So when you’re craving change and are thinking of signing up for Smart Yoga this coming Fall, consider this, are you ready to get a little uncomfortable?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Liz Cavallaro permalink
    July 24, 2013 4:16 pm

    Smart Yoga this Fall – count me in please! (hoping it’s not Thursday nights when I have class). I found about this about 1 week late for the Summer session and have been patiently (not really) waiting for the next round!!!

Leave a Reply

