Skip to content

If I’m So Smart, Why Can’t I Get To Yoga Class? A Six Week Course in Making Things Happen – Begins May 20th

February 20, 2013

Here is a Whole Lot More Information Than Maybe You Ever Wanted To Know about the best-ever yoga course starting May 20TH.


What’s with the course title?
Smart Yoga begins 3/17
Everyone in Washington DC is damn smart. It’s just true. I was even interviewed in Spring of 2010 at the Café at Kramerbooks by a news reporter from news-channel-whatever when a study came out listing DC as one of the smartest cities in the US. He asked me to explain the Pythagorean Theorem. (“Like duh,” said me, the yoga chick with a degree in math). Only one person I knew saw that piece air – the wife of my former boss. Of course I also sent it out to everyone I knew, being proud that I knew the answer and that I was on TV! How exciting.

Still what does this have to do with this course title?
I’m getting there. Patience. (Hint hint).

I help people for a living. I help them make changes when they feel really stuck in an unhappy, difficult, or truly boring situation. They’re fed up and are ready to get help making some movement. We start with a little wiggle and end up with a huge makeover.

I also teach yoga. A lot. I’m really good at helping people to relax and feel centered. True story. I’m absolutely confident of that.

The two have a powerful correlation. Making changes in your life requires [redacted] (well I can’t give away the whole enchilada) and yoga is the perfect practice because it helps us bring clarity and greater awareness to life so you can see what is it you’re REACHING FOR, so you can CLEARLY SEE what’s in front of you blocking your way,  and clear a path to GET THERE.

So here you are this Talented DC Smartie-Pie (a TDCSP) with tons of potential and opportunity all around you for love, success, health, happiness, and all you need are some super special key ingredients to toss together to “get to yoga class.” If you haven’t figured it out yet, “getting to yoga class” is a euphemism for:

  • Getting THE job
  • Finding love
  • Getting fit and healthy
  • Creating a beautiful, cozy home
  • Finding peace and balance
  • Actually enjoyed your life
  • Taking a really awesome vacation
  • Becoming an amazing yogini
  • Completing a marathon
  • Doing a pull-up (I really really want to be able to do a pull-up)

And whatever else it is your hearts is yearning for…

And you can’t GET THERE. You’re so smart, and yet, there’s something that’s not just working. You haven’t figured it out. Not because you can’t. But you just need a little help.

Something I stand up for adamantly (ADAMANTLY!) is that, we are not meant to be alone, act alone, or figure everything out by ourselves. It’s a ludicrous and way-too-pressury concept that we have to prove that we can make it “on our own.”  There are so many other TDCSP’s (professional and non-professional alike) around you who care about you, love you, and want to help. Don’t stand alone. You’re not supposed to. Create a whole team.

My team involves my best-friends (“Best Friend is a tier Danny, not a person.”), my mom and my sister, my chiropractor, my massage-therapist, my therapist-therapist, my mentor/friend Angela, my yoga teachers, my yoga students, my dentist/match-maker, my …ok, you know what I mean. This could go on for a while.

Your fellow Smart Yoga classmates will be joining “your team.” So will I.

Is this course for me?

Sometimes the fog gets so thick that you don’t even know what your euphemism stands for. “Im so busy I don’t even know what my heart is yearning for! But it’s not this.” I hear this all the time. Everybody in Washington, DC is busy as a play-ah in a nightclub (yeah I said it). You still will be after this course, but…

you can be busy AND be balanced. And get stuff done. And feel good about it.

We all get caught up with checking off the day to day tasks we HAVE to get done in order to keep on moving that we can’t even see straight anymore. But at night, when you go to bed, if you don’t pass out before you even hit the pillow, do you feel…unsettled?

There are three types of unsettled characters.

  • The Continuous Treadmill Runner “My life is so busy and out of balance. How can I get myself back and keep up with everything else I have to do?”
  • The Discontented Dreamer “Nothing is really wrong with my life, but nothing really seems right either. It just seems like things should be better than this.”
  • The Determined Change Maker “I’m so tired of trying to make changes. Why won’t they stick?”

You can read a whole lot more about these characters. Which one do you relate to? Personally I’ve been all three at one time or another in my life. There are ways to wiggle out of them all. Really. Promise. You won’t be stuck forever.

Here’s where you can REGISTER.
(The nitty grits: Registration includes six 90-minute sessions of yoga etc with the group over six weeks. Sundays 10am beginning March 3rd. That’s soon! Act now! This deal is about to expire! Third ridiculous call-to-action-inserted-here! Also, you get two 60-minute sessions with me, one-on-one to go over your personal stuff so you can launch everything we’re learning in the class room and wiggle wiggle wiggle your way into your fluid flowy future-life.)
But really, you will get some serious value from this course. Basically it’s like finding a pair of Lulu pants at the back rack at TJ Maxx at 75% off. The two sessions of 1-1 coaching alone are worth more than the whole course. OK now I’m over-sharing.

YogaSmileEmail me if you want to talk about it more. I know if anything here resonated with you (or made you laugh) then you’ll love this course. And if you don’t and if you don’t get what you set up to achieve by the end, I promise to work with you until you do.

Promise.

Love, kindness and lots of laughing and wiggling,Rebecca

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    February 26, 2013 1:39 am

    I am laughing at myself because I thought it was really about how to get to yoga class. Not being able to get to yoga class (time management problems) is actually one of my biggest problems so I just assumed that everyone you know has the same problem. 😉

    • February 26, 2013 1:53 am

      I think a lot of people do have that problem! Myself included. It’s definitely something I bet a lot of people in this workshop will want to work on.

  2. Jennifer Novak permalink
    May 12, 2013 1:25 am

    You had me at a pair of Lulu pants 75% off at TJ MAXX!

  3. June 5, 2013 12:51 pm

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and will come back someday. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great posts, have a nice evening!

Trackbacks

  1. How To Easily Get $50 off your enrollment for Smart Yoga « Beyond The Mat Yoga
  2. If I’m So Smart, Why Can’t I Get To Yoga Class? A Six Week Course in Making Things Happen – Begins March 17th | Live Beyond the Mat - Rebecca Bly

Leave a Reply

