Skip to content

Two reasons why you absolutely can’t give up.

January 28, 2013

A friend came to me last week. She was contingency planning for the rest of her life because things weren’t going exactly as she’d planned. The discussion got heated. I told her “you’re not allowed to give up yet!”

dont-give-up-in-the-middleShe was probably less than thrilled to hear it. Sometimes we get so comfortable being uncomfortable right where we are. It’s way too scary to take a risk to change things when you’ve gotten so used to how they are.

Believe me. I’ve been there. It took a virtual 90 foot crane manned by 30 huge guys to lift me out of my old career as a software developer and totally change directions to become a Wellness Coach.

There are two reasons why you absolutely can’t give up, toss out your dreams and start contingency planning.


1. Every moment you can begin again.
I saw this ALL THE TIME in yoga class. And if there’s anything I’ve learned from my struggles with meditation, it’s that every single moment you have the chance to begin again. You CAN let go of what’s happened, learn from your trials, and begin again. Just like a little baby that falls down a million times, she has to get up and begin again and again in order to walk. Let’s learn from babies (after all, you were one once) because you don’t see them berating themselves from falling. Just GET UP AND TRY AGAIN!

2. Persistence is a muscle, so exercise it. The Intelligent Optimist reports about a recent study of the brain suggests persistence is something that needs to be worked and can grow, just like a muscle. It was developed they say, from the days when we had to outrun the food we were chasing after. No joke! And that’s good news! Because if you have a big scary and compelling dream that seems impossible to realize, you can keep working your persistence muscle with smaller activities to keep it growing strong.

For example, I believe in my heart of hearts, in my soul of souls that I WILL NEVER EVER IN THE WHOLE WORLD BE ABLE TO DO A PULL UP. Thirty-two years of trying still hasn’t brought me any closer. It seems absolutely impossible. But if I could just keep trying by exercising my persistence muscle, then one day there will be this glimmer of possibility. And then one day after that, I’ll be able to do it.

And do I really truly care at the end of the day whether I can do a pull up? No. It doesn’t matter. But other dreams I do really care about. So it’s those that I just absolutely won’t give up on and will continue moment to moment, day to day, to begin again and never give up.

Will you share with me and your fellow yogis, what is it you absolutely won’t give up on? Post your dream below.

And if you need some energy and inspiration, listen to this song, get hyped up and motivated to find out “what you stand for” this year, and what you just absolutely can’t give up on!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2013 3:28 pm

    Become a member of the Presidents Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition 🙂

    • January 29, 2013 3:48 pm

      Oooh! Shall I call you Council Member Stitt? I’d appoint you!

Trackbacks

  1. I want to be just like Amy Elliot Dunne « Beyond The Mat Yoga
  2. Two reasons why you absolutely can’t give up. | Live Beyond the Mat - Rebecca Bly
  3. I want to be just like Amy Elliot Dunne | Live Beyond the Mat - Rebecca Bly

Leave a Reply

